SAVAnT Associates

Joanna Pawlik

Lecturer in Art History
Post-war American art and visual culture; avant-gardism, dada and surrealism in particular; transnationalism; art and protest; little magazines; region and regionalism.

Location: ARTS A A167
Email: J.Pawlik@sussex.ac.uk
Tel: Internal: 7945
UK: 01273 877945
International: +44 1273 877945

Doug Haynes

Senior Lecturer in American Literature and Visual Culture (American Studies, English).
Modern and contemporary American Literature and Visual Art; Critical Theory; Economy and Art; Affect Theory; Ideas of Humour.

Location: ARTS B B342
Tel: Internal: 7304
UK: 01273 877304
International: +44 1273 877304
Email: D.E.Haynes@sussex.ac.uk

David Peters Corbett

Professor of American Art and Director of the Centre for American Art
US and British art, 1850-1950. City painting in the US, 1880-1940. Word and image, particularly nineteenth and early-twentieth century.

The Centre for American Art at The Courtauld
David.Peterscorbett@courtauld.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 20 3947 7645

Martin Hammer

Professor of History and Philosophy of Art
University of Kent
US/UK artistic exchange, especially Hockney in the 1960’s. Broader interest in how ideas from and about America, as artistic centre and social order, informed cultural practice in Britain.
M.A.Hammer@kent.ac.uk

Laila Haidarali

Professor Laila Haidarali
University of Essex
Modern U.S. History; African America, with focus on Women; The Harlem Renaissance; Race, Gender, and Representation; Visual Culture; Mass-market magazines; Fashion, Beauty, and Style.
lhaid@essex.ac.uk

Caroline Blinder

Senior Lecturer in English and American Literature
Goldsmiths – University of London
Modern American Fiction, Dustbowl to Dream factory, and Hollywood Cinema 1915-1945. She also convenes an MA course: Documenting America: The American Photo-Text 1900-1959.
c.blinder@gold.ac.uk

Rebecca Arnold

Lecturer in the History of Dress and Textiles at The Courtauld Institute of Art
Ready-to-wear fashion, Interwar French couture, Fashion and modernity, Dress and the body, Dress and the senses, Film and fashion, Dress and the everyday, American fashion, Documentary Photography.
Rebecca.Arnold@courtauld.ac.uk

Michael Collins

Senior Lecturer in American Literature
University of Kent
Visual Anthropology – 1860s to 1920. Specifically, in the Boasian tradition.
American Realism into Modernism. The Ashcan School. Thomas Eakins.
M.J.Collins@kent.ac.uk

David Stirrup

Professor of American Literature and Indigenous Studies
University of Kent
19th, 20th, 21st century Native North American literature and art Indigenous image-text; visuality.
D.F.Stirrup@kent.ac.uk

Tamar Jeffers McDonald

Reader in Film Studies at the University of Kent
American cinema studied to their particular historical and social contexts.
T.Jeffers-McDonald@kent.ac.uk

Anne-Marie Angelo

Lecturer In American History
University of Sussex
A cultural historian of the 20th and 21st century United States in transnational perspective.

A.Angelo@sussex.ac.uk

Sarah Garland

Senior Lecturer in American Studies, School of Art, Media and American Studies
University of East Anglia
20th century word and image; American modernism; American avant-garde; artists books; mid-century multimedia, intermedia and conceptual art.
Sarah.Garland@uea.ac.uk

Will Norman

Reader in American Literature and Culture
University of Kent
Twentieth-century American literature and culture, especially midcentury modernism in literature and the visual arts; transatlantic exchange; crime fiction.
W.Norman@kent.ac.uk

Stella Bolaki

Senior Lecturer in American Literature
University of Kent
Multi-ethnic American literature, Black studies, illness narratives, disability studies and medical humanities.
S.Bolaki@kent.ac.uk

Tania Tribe

Senior Lecturer in Art History
SOAS University of London
Visual arts and architecture of the Nile valley, Ethiopia, Central and Southern Africa, and the African diaspora in the Americas; painting and two-dimensional representation.
tt10@soas.ac.uk

Matt Lodder

Lecturer in Contemporary Art and Visual Culture
University of Essex
The application of art-historical methods to history of Western tattooing from the 17th century to the present day.
mlodder@essex.ac.uk

Meaghan Clarke

Senior Lecturer in Art History
University of Sussex
Research expertise: 20th Century Visual Culture, Art History, British art, Gender Studies, history of collecting, Imperial/Colonial History, Print Culture, Victorian studies.
M.E.Clarke@sussex.ac.uk

Sue Currell

Reader In American Literature
University of Sussex
Research expertise American History, American Studies, Cultural History, English and American literature.
S.Currell@sussex.ac.uk

Gavin Butt

The Attenborough Chair in Drama: Theatre and Performance
University of Sussex
Research expertise: American Visual Art, Contemporary Performance, Performance And Live Art, Popular Music, Queer studies, Queer Theory, Theatre and performance studies, Visual arts, visual cultures. 
G.Butt@sussex.ac.uk

Ed Krcme

Lecturer in Art History
University of East Anglia
Research expertise: art made after 1945 in Europe and North America; problems of artistic autonomy; the history and theory of drawing; image and text.
e.krcma@uea.ac.uk

Jo Applin

A specialist in modern and contemporary art
The Courtauld Institute of Art
Research expertise: modern and contemporary art, with a particular emphasis on American art since 1960; questions of materiality, abstraction, eccentricity, feminism, sexuality, and subjectivity.
jo.applin@courtauld.ac.uk